Indiana Optometric Association Announces 2024 Award Winners, Inducts New Board Officers

The Indiana Optometric Association (IOA) announced its 2024 award winners April 19, 2024, at Indiana Optometry’s Meeting, the IOA’s 127th annual convention. The Optometrist of the Year is Todd Niemeier, OD, Evansville, and the President’s Citation - Young Optometrist of the Year is Nathan Morrow, OD, Indianapolis. These awards are bestowed on members of the IOA who demonstrate not only contributions to the profession, but also service on behalf of the visual welfare of the public and service to the community at large.

Additional awards include the Meritorious Service Award to Mark Roark, OD, Fishers; the Optometric Educator of the Year award to Hin Cheung, OD, Bloomington; and the Key Legislative Person to Marj Knotts, OD, Indianapolis.

The IOA also presented the Lifetime Achievement Award to James Hunter, OD. This award is presented to an Indiana optometrist to recognize significant and long-lasting contributions to the profession of optometry. Dr. Hunter has been instrumental in the growth of optometry as a profession in Indiana. Through his visionary leadership, he has devoted his 45-year career to educating future generations of optometrists, ensuring the delivery of quality vision care. He currently serves as the director of the Dr. James E. and Linda K. Hunter Laser and Surgical Care Center at the Indiana University School of Optometry in Bloomington, IN, and is a founder of Eye Specialists of Indiana in Indianapolis. He has served on the Indiana Optometry Board since 2004 and is Indiana’s Association of Regulatory Boards of Optometry (ARBO) representative. Dr. Hunter served as an IOA trustee and has received numerous awards including the Optometrist of the Year Award in 2011. 

Newly inducted Indiana Optometry board officers include: 

•    Dr. Jeffrey Perotti, Bloomington – President
•    Dr. Jeremy Gard, Muncie – President-Elect
•    Dr. Jennifer Kohn, Merrillville – Treasurer
•    Dr. Kyle King, Evansville – Secretary
•    Dr. James Stickel, Goshen – Immediate Past President

Founded in 1897, the Indiana Optometric Association is the voice of Doctors of Optometry in service to the eye and vision care needs of the citizens of Indiana.