IOA Announces 2021 Award Winners, Inducts New Board Officers

The Indiana Optometric Association (IOA) announced its 2021 award winners in April at the IOA’s annual convention. The Optometrist of the Year is Dr. Richard Schamerloh, Bluffton, Indiana, and the President’s Citation - Young Optometrist of the Year is Dr. Cameron Norman, Frankfort, IN. These awards are bestowed on members of the IOA who demonstrate not only contributions to the profession, but also service on behalf of the visual welfare of the public and service to the community at large.
Additional awards announced include the Meritorious Service Award to Dr. Jim Hunter, Indianapolis; the Optometric Educator of the Year award to Khashayar Tonekaboni, OD, Bloomington; and the Distinguished Service Award to Dr. Linda Frechette, Franklin.
The IOA also presented the Lifetime Achievement Award to Dr. Steven Levin, Whiting. This award is presented to an Indiana optometrist to recognize significant and long lasting contributions to the profession of optometry. Dr. Levin is a 48-year IOA member with a distinguished career serving not only his profession but also his community in northwest Indiana.
Newly inducted Indiana Optometry board officers include:
Dr. Jeffrey Kirchner, West Lafayette – President
Dr. Piper Groppel, Indianapolis – President-Elect
Dr. Jamie Stickel, Goshen – Treasurer
Dr. Jeff Perotti, Bloomington, Secretary
Dr. Damon Dierker, Indianapolis – Immediate Past President
Founded in 1897, the Indiana Optometric Association is the voice of Doctors of Optometry in service to the eye and vision care needs of the citizens of Indiana.