IOA Announces 2022 Award Winners, Inducts New Board Officers

The Indiana Optometric Association (IOA) announced its 2022 award winners in April at the IOA’s annual convention. The Optometrist of the Year is Herb Price, OD, Logansport, IN, and the President’s Citation - Young Optometrist of the Year is Katie Connolly, OD, Bloomington, IN. These awards are bestowed on members of the IOA who demonstrate not only contributions to the profession, but also service on behalf of the visual welfare of the public and service to the community at large.
Additional awards announced include the Meritorious Service Award to Nicole Albright, OD, Merrillville, IN; the Optometric Educator of the Year award to Brad Sutton, OD, Indianapolis, IN; and the Outstanding Service in the Public Interest to Tim Fischer, President and CEO of Indiana Lions Eye Bank.
The IOA also presented the Lifetime Achievement Award to Robert W. Moses, OD, Merrillville, IN. This award is presented to an Indiana optometrist to recognize significant and long lasting contributions to the profession of optometry. Dr. Moses has been in practice for 50 years, and with his family has grown Moses Eyecare to 12 offices throughout northwest Indiana. Dr. Moses is a lifetime member of the American Optometric Association and the Indiana Optometric Association where he has served as the Third Party Chair for many years.
Newly inducted Indiana Optometry board officers include:
  • Piper Groppel, OD, Martinsville President
  • Jamie Stickel, OD, Goshen – President-Elect
  • Jeff Perotti, OD, Bloomington – Treasurer
  • Jeremy Gard, OD, Muncie – Secretary
  • Jeffrey Kirchner, OD, West Lafayette – Immediate Past President
The convention which was held April 22-23 at the Embassy Suites in Plainfield, IN, included a celebration of the 125th anniversary of the Indiana Optometric Association. Founded in 1897, the Indiana Optometric Association is the voice of Doctors of Optometry in service to the eye and vision care needs of the citizens of Indiana.